Bangers & Mash

So. I’ve been following a Paleo-ish diet the past four and a half weeks. I allow wine (duh) and I just can’t give up chocolate. I can’t. Don’t even try to convince me otherwise. I’ll fight you ’til the day I die. (And I just might die if you take my chocolate away). The Paleo aspect has been a really fun way to get my creative juices flowing (not that I eat a lot of bread and processed sugars anyway… other than pizza. But that doesn’t count? I tried a cauliflower pizza crust and I failed, but I won’t give up. I’ll make it work. So, in the meantime, I’ll have my pizza with an extra side of gluten).

Of course, my goal with eating Paleo has been to lose weight. What girl doesn’t want to lose weight? if you’re a girl that is reading and doesn’t want to lose weight, I want to talk to you. But, to get back on point, the further I get in, the more I’m really enjoying it. Not only am I feeling pretty great (despite the REFUSAL of the scale to budge), but as I mentioned, I’m forced (not really FORCED, per say… but for lack of a better word…) to be creative in the kitchen. Making something out of something else. Granted something I love to do anyway (see my seven ways with lentils…), but… it’s a challenge and I love it. And that makes me happy. Even tho the stupid scale isn’t moving in the direction I want it. Whatever.

The other day I made a Paleo version of “Bangers and Mash.” And I couldn’t have had a happier mouth and then a REALLY happy, STUFFED tummy.

Image

Forgive the phallic-ness of the sausage. Never mind. It was delish, so I will not apologize.

The mash is cauliflower. I’ve read recipes and known that there are recipes and peeps out there that have made mashed “potatoes” with cauliflower, but I have never attempted it. And, true fashion to me, I completely and totally wung it. (Wung is totally a word).

For the mash:
1 head of cauliflower, washed and supper roughly chopped
1/4 cup paleo friendly butter
1/4 cup coconut creamer
1/4 cup water
pinch of salt

Cook cauliflower in a large pan with 1/4 cup water and salt until tender. Drain most of the water, leave a little bit (maybe about a teaspoon). Add butter and cream. Use immersion blender to blend cauliflower until smooth and creamy.

For the bangers (teehee…)
I grilled my favorite, jalapeno beef sausage. What is your favorite sausage?

For the plate, scoop the mash onto the plate or bowl or whatever you’re eating off of and add the banger to the top. Devour.

Love until later,
Faith

About faithbenitez

novice cook, expert food lover and day dreamer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

