I’m back, bitches. OK, I might not be.

I’m back, bitches. OK, I might not be. But I like saying “I’m back.” Especially with the added emphasis employing the word “bitches.” But all that aside, I hope I’m back for the long haul. I’m not holding my breath. (I like to breathe). God, I’m a dork. 

This year has been an utter whirlwind of one-thing-after-another-non-stop-madness. The stresses were relentless and finally, instead of trying to beat them off as I had been doing, I started unleashing my pent up anxiety and weariness out with an “open” kitchen sign and delving into one culinary adventure after the next. The result has been a very happy husband, a happier me, a slightly messier kitchen and a much needed therapeutic outlet. 

Image

One of the latest and greatest and possibly my most favorite thing that has come out of my kitchen in a long while has been a curry sauce and cauliflower couscous (pictured above as left-overs).

The curry sauce was exceptional. Exceptionally tasty and exceptionally easy. 

In a medium sauce pan, combine half a can of coconut milk, a quarter cup of raw cashews, half of a medium sized shallot diced. Let simmer on low hear for about 20min. Add minced garlic (2 cloves), pinch of salt and 3-4 tbsp curry powder. Let heat thru (about 5-10min). Pour into blender and blend until smooth. The first night husband and I topped it with some grilled lamb. For lunch the next day, I put it on top of grilled salmon. Both ways- DE. F-ING. LISH.

For the cauliflower couscous, wash, dry and roughly chop a full head of cauliflower. Pulse in food processor until you get what looks like couscous. Heat large skillet with olive oil and diced shallot. When shallot is soft and brown, add cauliflower. Cook until tender. Add sun dried tomato, salt and pepper to taste. And then, EAT! Again, I will say DE. F-ING. LISH.

I can’t promise when I’ll post again, but I wanted to share a little bit of what has been happening in my kitchen. I have been taking pictures of the finished products in hopes that I will find time to sit down and write, so hopefully sooner than later I’ll have a new recipe to share. 

Love until later,
faith

 

About faithbenitez

novice cook, expert food lover and day dreamer extraordinaire
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

