my quest for the holy grail… or red lentils

what is my quest? i can rattle off a few canned answers… to live healthfully, to be fulfilled by my passions, to share my talents with others, to be a part of “the greater good.” i could go on, but i think you get the picture. when i really sit down and try to focus on what i want… the real answer is, like any other true blooded american, i want a piece of my own pie and i want to play. i want to fulfill my own vision of the american dream. so for now i’ll call it the home scratch dream.

the way my kitchen (that husband is so wonderfully cleaning right now) looks after i finish cooking a meal looks very akin to the way my brain works; scattered, messy and very explosive. it is my goal to really hone in on what my greater good contribution will be. what is my quest? what is my holy grail? at least for today my grail was red lentils.

i had found a 4lb bag of red lentils for $5. a steal in my book. 1/4cup of lentils=1 serving, 8cups=32servings≈16cents/serving. hell yes, i’ll take that 4lb bag of red lentils, thank you! so, for dinner tonight, i made curried red lentils. i saw the light they were so good. and healthy to boot.

the red lentils beacon me on my quest... at least they give me fuel for the good fight

curried lentils

taken from THE COMPLETE VEGETARIAN COOKBOOK
1cup red lentils
2cups veggie stock
1/2tsp ground turmeric
1 3/4oz ghee (i used unsalted butter)
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped (i used 4… i have a thing for garlic)
1 large green chili, seeded and finely chopped (i used a jalapeño)
2tsp ground cumin
2tsp ground coriander
2 tomatoes, chopped
1/2cup coconut milk
1. rinse the lentils and drain well. place the lentils, stock and turmeric in a large heavy basted pan. bring to boil, reduce the heat and simmer, covered for 10min or until just tender. stir occasionally to make sure the mix is not catching on the bottom of the pot.
2. meanwhile, heat the ghee in a small frying pan and add the onion. cook until soft and golden. add the garlic, chili, cumin and coriander. cook, stirring for 2-3 min (or until fragrant). add the onion mix to the lentil mix, stir until incorporated. add chopped tomatoes (i seeded mine). simmer over very low heat for 5min, stirring frequently.
3. add coconut milk, stir until heated through.

 

i garnished with fresh chopped cilantro and served with a whole wheat pita. (naan would have been ideal, but pita is what was in the fridge, none the less, it was great).

with my now clean kitchen and the leftovers  packed up and ready to be taken for lunch, i sit back with a full tummy and continue to contemplate… where is my grail?

humble pie,
faith
About faithbenitez

novice cook, expert food lover and day dreamer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in healthy, quick meals, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my quest for the holy grail… or red lentils

  1. Pingback: another way with lentils | home scratch cookin'

  2. Pingback: & finally… my 7th way with lentils | home scratch cookin'

Leave a Reply

